Personal Injury Incidents In Miami-Dade County
In a county as dynamic and fast-paced as Miami-Dade County, accidents are bound to happen. Every day, people become injured in the sunny county amid the hustle and bustle. With people constantly on the move, it is no wonder that accidents occur frequently. The injuries that transpire out of accidents are as diverse as the incidents themselves. Some accidents are self-induced, while others are the result of someone else’s actions.
When someone becomes injured at the hands of someone else, they could be entitled to collect compensation for the injuries and damages they sustained. The pursuit of recompense for injuries and damages is widely known as a personal injury claim. The law provides victims of personal injury claims the ability to hold the party responsible for causing them harm. In other words, a party who is found at fault for causing an injury and damages could be held liable.
Miami-Dade County and Florida’s Personal Injury Threshold
It is worth noting that not all injuries warrant a legal liability. If a person sustains minor injuries, they may not have a viable case against the person who caused them harm. The state of Florida has established a threshold that is used to determine whether an injury is serious enough to pursue outside of a person’s insurance policy. If you have been injured, it is highly advised to seek the counsel of a personal injury attorney in Miami-Dade County. A personal injury attorney can assess your specific case and advise you on how to best move forward with your claim.
Personal injuries can range from mild, moderate, serious, severe, to fatal. Serious to fatal injuries usually meet Florida’s threshold and have the best chance of recovery. In order to meet Florida’s serious injury threshold, there are certain qualifications that have to be met before a person is able to pursue legal action. Under the law in Florida, a person cannot hold another person liable for personal injuries if it falls below the threshold. If the injuries do not meet the threshold, the chance to recover compensation from the party at fault is zero. If you have been in an accident, contact a Miami-Dade County personal injury attorney to discuss your case and verify whether you meet Florida’s injury threshold.
Florida is a no-fault state, which means that drivers are required to carry $10,000 in personal injury coverage. The personal injury coverage pays for expenses that are caused by a car accident. Even if you are at fault for causing an accident, your personal injury coverage will cover your medical expenses up to the limit in your policy. Since personal injuries are costly due to medical expenses, lost wages, and other out-of-pocket expenses, it can be easy to rack up over $10,000 worth of costs. However, if your injuries are serious enough, you may be able to pursue the other party for damages. To do so, you will need the legal assistance of an experienced personal injury attorney in Miami-Dade County.
What Is Considered A Serious Injury In Florida?
The law does not detail specifics of what it considers a serious personal injury. Instead, the law provides four categorizations of injuries that could meet the threshold standard. The standards of the threshold include the following:
- Significant or permanent loss of a bodily function
- Permanent injury
- Significant or permanent scarring and/or disfigurement
Since the law does not go into more detail, skilled attorneys spend time researching past cases that have resulted in agreeable damages for their clients. It has been found that certain serious injuries have repeatedly met the threshold. Those injuries include broken bones, dismemberment of limbs, disability or loss of motion, brain injury, spinal injury, burns that lead to severe scarring and disfigurement, and mental illnesses brought upon by the accident. This is not an exhaustive list of serious injuries. If an injury has caused a person to lose their enjoyment of life or are no longer able to work, that injury could be classified over the threshold standard. That is why it is essential to contact a personal injury attorney in Miami-Dade County who has vast experience in personal injury cases. An experienced Miami-Dade County personal injury attorney will know how to evaluate and effectively proceed with your serious injury claim.
The Importance Of Hiring A Personal Injury Attorney in Miami-Dade County
The personal injury laws in Florida can be confusing. Hiring a Miami-Dade County personal injury attorney can provide peace of mind. Attorneys in this field know the law. They know how to navigate the system. Their expertise spans a wide array of invaluable skills, such as negotiating for the best settlement. If you have been seriously injured, your next move should be to contact a personal injury attorney in Miami-Dade County.
To gain a better understanding of personal injury claims, it is highly recommended to contact a law firm that will take the time to talk to you about your concerns. At Concepcion Law, we have successfully represented numerous clients in Miami-Dade County and surrounding areas.
Call Now For A Case Evaluation!